I Dare You…

It’s summer.  Shorter nights, lots of sun (hopefully) and maybe some extra free time.  Now, I have an astounding idea – turn off the latest episode of whatever insufferable Reality TV nonsense, put down your precious video game controller, stop checking your stupid Twitter account.  I seriously dare you to read a book this summer.  Why?  Because I don’t think you’ll accept the challenge, because I think you’re terrified you might actually find yourself enjoying it. 

I don’t care if it’s a beat up paperback, a brand new hardback, or some type of e-book.  I don’t care if it’s about Vampire Princesses in love with Fairy Warriors, USMC Snipers lost in Cambodia, Marketing CEO’s finding a magical pair of Jimmy Choos, Alcoholic Lawyers battling injustice in 1959 Mississippi, or Starships discovering an ancient alien race outside Ursa Minor.  I don’t care.  I just don’t think you’ll do it.

Oh, I know… you’ll give the excuses that you’re “too busy” or you “don’t have the attention span.”  That’s all bullshit, of course.  No, you recall being forced to read Where The Red Fern Grows, Catcher In The Rye, and Lord Of The Flies.  Well, gues what?  Nobody really likes Moby Dick.  Name me five movies you like and I guarantee at least one of them was a book first. 

A book is cheaper than a video game, it lasts longer than a TV episode, and it’s infinitely more interesting than Twitter.  It engages your brain while you’re sprawled on the couch, it captivates your imagination while you’re waiting in the doctor’s office.  I promise you, you can find a book that you’ll love.

Here, I’ll up the stakes.  I double-dog dare you.  See, now you’re screwed and you have to find a book for the summer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

