Three Men and Their Table

And so three men came to sit at a table, the table being round and each of them sat facing the others as equals.  However, these men did not view one another as such and they attempted to prove superiority over their companions.  Around the table, the argument went as follows…

“I am The Scientific Man,” declared the first.  “I come to you with data and reason.  See how my closed fist strikes this table in righteousness?  This table is a table for logic has proved it so, nothing more, and those who would stand against my Truth are the Fools.”

“I am The Religious Man,” declared the second.  “I come to you with tradition and faith.  See how my closed fist strikes this table in righteousness?  This table is a table for my god wills it so, nothing more, and those who would stand against my Truth are the Damned.”

The third man watched and listened to the declarations of his companions at the table.  He wept at their ignorance, he pitied their arrogance.  Finally, he scorned their self-declared righteousness.

“I am The Dreaming Man,” stated the third.  “I come to you with art and philosophy.  See how my open palm passes through this table in understanding?  This table is not a table for it is how we choose to accept it, this and all things more, and those who would cling to a Truth are those who Know Not Truth.”

But the companions of The Dreaming Man both scorned him in excess, for their Truth was all that concerned them.  So the Dreaming Man left their company, left them to their ceaseless righteousness.  He left them to their declarations, neither of the other men accepting their own kind, The Scientific Man and The Religious Man, both were born from The Dreaming Man. 

The Dreaming Man left them and, indeed, no table was present between the remaining two.

Copyright © 2011 by Brian Fatah Steele

Leave a Reply

